CSLA .NET

Vibrant discussion about CSLA .NET and using the framework to build great business applications.

Forum has moved

New location: CSLA .NET forum

CSLA .NET Resources:
  • CSLA .NET forum
  • CSLA .NET home page
  • CSLA and the new ASP.NET Web API

rated by 0 users
    Answered (Verified) This post has 2 verified answers | 19 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 25 Contributor
    202 Posts
    Tim posted on Tue, Feb 28 2012 8:43 AM

I was going through some of the examples on the new web API that is part of the asp.net mvc 4 beta release.  Does CSLA fit with the Web API model?  I'm new to ASP.NET MVC and am trying to figure out if I should consider the web API for use with CSLA.  Thanks.

Tim

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 10 Contributor
    9,475 Posts
    Verified by Tim

How do you want to use it?

I can see two ways it may be useful.

First, you can expose a web api that is backed by CSLA business objects. I haven't looked into this, but it makes sense to do this because a web api is just a service endpoint, and many people already implement their services (asmx or WCF) using CSLA objects. I expect the web api services will be very similar.

Second, the data portal might use the web api as a transport at some point. If the web api becomes the preferred model for communication or service hosting (over WCF) then it makes sense that the data portal would support a web api channel. That shouldn't really affect the way the data portal works - it would be another option in addition to WCF, asmx, Remoting, and Enterprise Services. (though to be fair, I essentially deprecated everything but WCF starting with CSLA 4).

Rocky

Top 10 Contributor
    9,475 Posts
    Verified by Tim

I agree that Web API is becoming the preferred communication mechanism for non-enterprise scenarios, and for some enterprise scenarios.

The thing to keep in mind is that the data portal is an n-tier technology, so being "open" is not a design consideration.